Portfolio Update

The end of each month is the time to run the system to see if there are any changes in positions. Here are the directions for each asset:

asset class direction
IEF bonds long
SHY bonds long
TLT bonds long
DBA commodities long
DBC commodities short
GLD commodities long
UUP currencies long
SCZ international_equities long
VWO international_equities long
VNQ real_estate long
IJR us_equities long
SPY us_equities long

The changes are only to shorts: SPY, VWO, SCZ, IRJ, DBA, which are now longs. The number of shares is the same as before.

Unfortunately, I will no longer be able to post portfolio snapshots from investopedia.com. Their system failed me this morning when I attempted to cover and go long. The quotes were not updated for some ETFs, so I was unable to execute trades. I have decided to abandon investopedia.com. I can only report that my end of July balance was $980,243.14, so I was down 1.98% for the month.

It would probably be easiest to keep track of my portfolio via a spread sheet and post monthly updates to this blog. However, I want to avoid any appearance of hindsight and I believe that it is important to use an objective trading simulator to honestly report my results. Sometime this week, I will choose a new simulator.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This entry was posted in Portfolio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

